But I just want to understand…

BUT I JUST WANT TO UNDERSTAND…So I’m reading in “Jesus Calling” when enlightenment happens…that’s like twice this month already!!! Amazing, when something gets through this thick hair and skull.
And there it is… “Understanding will never bring you peace”. WHAT? But, I thought? I just knew… NOPE. It finally dawned on me, those time I have figured out the why to problems, concerns and difficult situations, it didn’t really help. But that’s who I am, I like to know what makes something tick.
Jesus instructed us to trust in Him, not in your understanding. (oh, yeah, I think I remember that, duh, my favorite verse. Proverbs 3:5,6)
However, I realized I wanted to know something so I could master it. As soon as I master something, something else pops up. So usually I am in this vicious cycle of searching for understanding (mastery) instead of seeking the Master.
From Jesus Calling “The wisest of all men, Solomon, could never think his way through to Peace. HIs vast understanding resulted in feelings of futility, rather than in fulfillment. Finally he lost his way and succumbed to the will of his wives by worshiping idols.”
So unlike Solomon, I don’t want to live in futility. I like the peace God gives when I seek Him so much better.

Leave a Reply

